After the Drought, the Flood.

So it’s been a while. I’ve been working at the DePaul University Center for Writing Based Learning (who has their own blog, go figure) editing papers and making a podcast and interning at the Chicago Tribune Media Services writing stories and such things. So I guess I’ve been busy?

But I have been working on stuff that will be up on the blog in the very near future, namely another podcast post and my story that will appear in the Chicago Tribune and online on July 31st.

The podcast is exciting. No really. The podcasting team went to three different readings, Essay Fiesta, the Green Mill’s Uptown Poetry Slam and Reading Under the Influence. We took audio of people reading at the event and also snagged some interviews with not only the authors themselves, but also the people that put the event together. All in all an enjoyable read if I do say so myself.

The Trib article is a surprise. One that I will post on July 31st.

On a different note, I have been reading George R. R. Martin’s A Dance With Dragons. After getting 599 pages into the 958 page mammoth, I feel abused.

You see, me and the book are in a relationship. And the book is my mentally abusive husband. All I really want is a divorce, but I just can’t seem to get myself down to the courthouse.

So I will finish this monstrosity, reluctantly. And when I can finally wash my mind free of its taint, I will be in a better mood.

So stay tuned to the blog, and I promise more content will be up soon!

Thanks and let me know what you think!

2 responses to “After the Drought, the Flood.

  1. You’ve intrigued me. I feel like I want to attempt to read that book now, if I had more than 30 spare seconds during the day to do something I choose.

    • The first four are definitely worth it. The first three are amazing. Gritty and wonderful and very dark. They are exciting and more then once I cried, like bawled on the pages.

Leave a Reply

